The Ashfield Studios complex offers individual working spaces to 16 artists.

Artsource now has the lease on a rambling building directly across the road from the Ashfield train station, with good access close to the city.

This spacious two-storey building had been empty for many years before Artsource took on the lease to meet the demand for affordable artist working spaces close to the city. The complex now accommodates sixteen individual studio spaces on five-year leases.

The complex is also home to the Artist-Run-Initiative,  Another Project Space, and encompasses a gallery space used for onsite artist residencies run by recent art graduates Rebecca Jensen, Liam Colgan and Nikki Lundy.

Current Resident Artists

The current artists in the Artsource Ashfield Studios are Marina van Leeuwen, Jilalga Murray, Paul Urlich, Ayako Goto, Bruce Reid, Vania Lawson, Andrew Cross, Adam Ismail, Giovanni Di Dio, Sue Leeming, Alexander Maciver, Kelly Price, Perdita Phillips, Darryn Ansted, Scott Robson and Greg Hart



It is with great sadness that we will no longer be offering new studio spaces throughout the Perth metro area. Our emerging and established studio artists become part of a tight-knit community, and they inspire us with the trajectories that having a dedicated work space provides their careers as an artist.

We will be seeing out the current terms of our existing leases and assisting studio artists to transition to leasing directly or to find new facilities in 2020.

If you have benefited from an Artsource studio in the past, or would like to have one in future, please CLICK HERE to let us know. We would like to contact you in future to help inform the implementation of new strategies for our services. 

For more information on Artsource in 2020, CLICK HERE >


Ashfield studios aerial. courtesy of Raine & Horne Commercial  

Previous Events

The inaugural Ashfield Artist Open Studios 2016

The artists now housed in studios within this former 1970's office building of Chrysler, have been painting, sculpting and dancing new life into it's boardrooms, hallways and kitchen spaces.

This year's Open Studios artists' included: Vanessa Russ, Sue Leeming, Kirsten Biven, Ayako Goto, Lucy O'Dea, Adam Ismail, Giovanni Di Dio, Kyle Hughes-Odgers, Vania Lawson & Andy Cross, Laura Williams, Perdita Phillips, Darryn Ansted and Nigel Hewitt.

Images: Artsource Ashfield Open Studios 2016. Photographer: Christophe Canato

Artsource Ashfield Open Studios 2016. Photographer: Christophe Canato Artsource Ashfield Open Studios 2016. Photographer: Christophe Canato