

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE

Impact of the 2014 and 2015 Commonwealth Budget decisions on the Arts

PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 1 September 2015

Committee Meeting Room 2 Legislative Assembly Committee Office, Level 1, 11 Harvest Terrace, West Perth, Perth

| Time | Witness |
|----------|--|
| 9.00 am | Chamber of Arts and Culture WA Inc. (Submission 463) Mr Henry Boston, Executive Director |
| 9.30 am | Australian Performing Arts Centres Association (Submission 190) Mr Rick Heath, Executive Director |
| 10.00 am | Performing Lines WA <i>(Submission 499)</i> Ms Fiona de Garis, Senior Producer |
| 10.30 am | Morning tea |
| 10.40 am | Panel: Country Arts WA (Submission 468) Ms Jessica Machin, Chief Executive Officer |
| | Community Arts Network WA (CAN WA) <i>(Submission 469)</i> Ms Pilar Kasat, Managing Director |
| 11.20 am | Panel: Yirra Yaakin Aboriginal Theatre Company (Submission 239) Mr Peter Kift, General Manager Ms Shakara Walley |
| | Side Pony Productions <i>(Submission 470)</i> Ms Zoe Pepper, Artistic Director |
| | The Blue Room Theatre <i>(Submission 489)</i> Ms Kerry O'Sullivan, Executive Director |
| | Black Swan State Theatre Company (Submission 473) Ms Natalie Jenkins, General Manager Ms Kate Cherry, Artistic Director |
| | Barking Gecko Theatre Company Ms Helen Hristofski, Chief Executive Officer Mr Matt Edgerton, Artistic Director |

| 12.00 pm | Panel: Western Australian Youth Jazz Orchestra (WAYJO) (Submission 481) Ms Fiona Symonds, General Manager |
|----------|---|
| | Propel Youth Arts WA <i>(Submission 655)</i> Ms Monique Douglas, Executive Director |
| | Southern Edge Arts (No submission provided) via teleconference Ms Anne Sorenson, Artistic Director |
| 12.40 pm | Panel: Writing WA <i>(Submission 534)</i> Mr Dennis Haskell, Chair |
| | Fremantle Press <i>(Submission 651)</i> Mr Ian Lilburne, Chair |
| 1.20 pm | Lunch |
| 1.40 pm | DADAA LTD <i>(Submission 538)</i> Mr David Doyle, Executive Director |
| 2.10 pm | Panel: Perth Institute of Contemporary Arts (PICA) <i>(Submission 501)</i> Ms Amy Barrett-Lennard, Director Ms Rebecca Baumann, Visual Artist Ms Sarah Rowbottam, Independent Curator |
| | Artsource (Submission 645) Dr Miik Green, Chair Mr Gavin Buckley, Chief Executive Officer |
| | Professor Ted Snell (No submission provided) |
| 2.50 pm | Ausdance WA (Submission 482) Ms Felicity Bott, Director |
| | STRUT Dance (No Submission Provided) Mr Paul Norton, Director |
| | Co3 (No submission provided) Mr Aaron Beach, Executive Director |
| 3.30 pm | Afternoon tea |
| 3.40 pm | PVI Collective <i>(Submission 483)</i> Mr Steve Bull, Core Artist and Co-Founder Ms Helen Curtis, Board Member |
| | Fremantle Arts Centre (No submission provided) Mr Jim Cathcart, Director |

| 4.20 pm | <i>Panel:</i> Ms Kathryn Osborne (Submission 494) |
|---------|--|
| | Dr Cat Hope (Submission 73) |
| | Mr Lockie McDonald (No submission provided) |
| | Mr Aaron Wyatt (Submission 652) |
| 5.00 pm | Adjournment |