Date published: 23/07/2013

Artsource congratulates Lesley Munro, who won the best overall artwork prize for her painting The Way Back at the 2013 Cossack Art Award. Lesley accepted her $15,000 prize and 2014 residency opportunity at the official Awards ceremony on Saturday 20 July.

On receiving her award, Lesley said “I am absolutely lost for words. It is such an honour to receive this Award. I have entered the Cossack Art Award for a number of years and am so grateful for the opportunity to come to the exhibition itself and to be standing here receiving this award this evening."

"This Award has come at a time in my career when I was having some doubts about my work, so this Award is a tremendous encouragement for me and my practice. I strongly encourage any artists with similar concerns to continue to make work and have faith that your endeavours and hard work may be rewarded and recognised, as mine have been tonight," she continued.

"Thank you to Judges Lindy Lee and Seva Frangos, and to the organisers of this outstanding event which has given so many artists the opportunity to showcase their work in such a beautiful location.”

Judges Lindy Lee and Seva Frangos said of Lesley’s winning artwork: “This work displays a sensitive investigation of line, space and colour. The carving adds a kind of sculptural element. A beautifully balanced work in every aspect; the size, tone, line and composition. A very considered work.”

Also taking home prizes were Artsource members Gabrielle Woodhams and Caspar Fairhall. Gabrielle won $5,000 in the works on paper category for Angels in the Architecture and invited artist Caspar, the 2012 best overall artwork winner, was awarded $8,000 for his painting Minecraft Sky.

A free program of events accompanied this year's awards, including painting workshops with 2013 Cossack Art Award artist in residence Caspar Fairhall, a judge’s floor talk and local artist exhibition talks. A highlight of the program was the 6x6 Artist Forum, hosted by Artsource and featuring artist talks from Caspar Fairhall, Carrie McDowell, Tyson Mowarin, Michelle Horrocks, Dan Gladden and Tanya Montgomery.

The Cossack Art Award exhibition is open daily from 10am to 3pm until Sunday 11 August, 2013. For more information please visit the website. 

Back to News